Seven Arts & Humanities alums among 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

April 17, 2024

Seven alums of the Division of Arts & Humanities were among the 188 Guggenheim Fellows whose names were announced on April 11, 2024.

Mai Der Vang

(B.A. English ‘03)
English Poet & Assistant Professor, Department of English, California State University, Fresno

Marta Figlerowicz

(Ph.D English ‘13)
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature, Yale University

Jack Halberstam

(B.A. English ‘85)
The David Feinson Professor of the Humanities, Department of English and Comparative Literature, Columbia University

Vincent Lloyd

(Ph.D. Rhetoric '08)
Professor, Department of Theology and Religious Studies, Villanova University

Barbara Montero

(B.A. Philosophy ‘93)
Professor of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame, NY

Gretchen Reydams-Schils

(Ph.D. Classics/Ancient Philosophy ‘94)
Professor, Program of Liberal Studies, University of Notre Dame, IN

Andrew Riggsby

Ph.D. Classics ‘93)
Lucy Shoe Meritt Professor in Classics, University of Texas at Austin

Chosen through a rigorous application and peer review process from a pool of almost 3,000 applicants, Guggenheim Fellows are selected on the basis of prior career achievement and exceptional promise. 

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation seeks to “further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest possible conditions.” 

Since its founding in 1925, the Foundation has granted over $400 million in Fellowships to more than 19,000 individuals, among whom are more than 125 Nobel laureates, members of all the national academies, winners of the Pulitzer Prize, Fields Medal, Turing Award, Bancroft Prize, National Book Award, and other internationally recognized honors. 

View the announcement and the full list of 2024 Fellows.